News & Announcements

Dr. Jessica Marie Johnson to deliver keynote at the 2018 African American Digital Humanities Conference

The AADHum Initiative at the University of Maryland is proud to invite scholars, researchers, teachers, professionals, activists, and community members to its first national conference, Intentionally Digital, Intentionally Black. The conference will be held at the UMD campus in College Park, Maryland, on October 18-20, 2018. What happens to digital humanities inquiry when we begin with Black […]

Johnson Launches Fall 2018 Sex & Slavery Lab

The Sex and Slavery Lab launched for fall 2018 with its first speaker, Dr. Deirdre Cooper Owens (Queens College, City University of New York. Cooper Owens visited campus September 18-20th as a guest of the Sex and Slavery Lab and the Program in the History of Science, Medicine, and Technology. Dr. Deirdre Cooper is the author […]

Prof. Jackson to Present at National Book Festival

Lawrence Jackson
Come see Prof. Lawrence Jackson at the National Book Festival on Saturday, September 1, 2018! Presentation: 3-3:45pm Book Signing: 4:30-5:30pm Location: Washington Convention Center, 801 Mt. Vernon Place NW, Washington, DC Prof. Jackson is the award-winning author of “Chester B. Himes: A Biography.” For more information about the National Book festival, please see their website.