Graduate Students

  • Yuri Amano

    yamano1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg

  • David Attali

    dattali1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Shepard

  • Samuel Backer

    sbacker2@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Furstenberg

  • John Bandy

    jbandy3@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Rowe, Professor Meyer-Fong

  • Adam Bisno

    bisno@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Modern Germany, Urban, Commercial hospitality

    Main Adviser: Professor Jelavich

  • Katherine Bonil Gómez

    kbonilg1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Colonial Latin America, African Diaspora, Colonial Discourses of Difference, Comparative Slavery

    Main Adviser: Professor Paquette, Professor Vinson

  • Allon Brann

    abrann2@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin

  • Linda Braun

    linda.braun@jhu.edu

    Thesis Title: "Experiencing and Performing Ragtime and Jazz in Germany, 1890-1945"

    Main Adviser: Professor Jelavich

  • Rachel Calvin-Whitehead

    rachelindeed@yahoo.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Alvaro Caso-Bello

    alvarocaso@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Iberian Empires in the age of Revolutions, Colonial and early-Republican Latin America; British Empire, Comparative history of the Atlantic Empires

    Main Adviser: Professor Paquette, Professor Marshall

  • Jilene Chua

    jchua4@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard, Professor Walters

  • Christopher Consolino

    cconsol1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Nathan Daniels

    nathan.daniels@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Medieval France, Urban Space, Social Relations, Cultural Production, Digital History

    Thesis Title: "Crafting Society: Guild Life and Urban Organization in Paris, 1292-1350"

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Amira Rose Davis

    ardavis@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  20th Century United States History, African-American History, Race, Gender, Sports, Politics and Popular Culture

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters, Professor Connolly

  • Constance de Font-Reaulx

    cdefont1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern France; Environmental history; Cultural and Social Theory; History of consumption; Old Regime political economy, and state formation.

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Sean Delehanty

    sdeleha1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin

  • Lauren Feldman

    lauren.feldman@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters

  • Jeremy Fradkin

    jeremy.fradkin@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early modern Britain and Ireland; the European Reformations; pluralism, persecution, and polemic; evangelization and colonialism; intellectual history.

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Meredith Gaffield

    m.gaffield@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass, Professor Morgan

  • Francis Galasi

    fbgalasi@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Early Modern Spain, Spanish Philippines, Catholicism

    Main Adviser: Professor E. Rowe, Professor Paquette

  • Guillermo Garcia Montufar

    guillermo@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early colonial Latin America; The appearances, formation, and nuances of Spanish-American creole-patriotism in the 16th and 17th centuries

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan

  • Yonatan Glazer-Eytan

    yeglazer@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Spain and its empire, 15th-17th centuries, inquisition, converted minorities, religious transgression, sacred images, cross-confessional polemic, diasporas, Mediterranean studies

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan, Professor Paquette

  • Brendan Goldman

    bgoldma4@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Rustow, Professor Spiegel

  • Jennifer Grayson

    jennie.grayson@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Rustow

  • Kalina Hadzhikova

    khadzhi1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • John Harris

    jharr127@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  19th Century U.S. History; Atlantic World History; Slavery; Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

    Thesis Title: "The Illegal Transatlantic Slave Trade of the Northern United States, 1850–1865"

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Michael Hatton

    mhatton1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Catherine Hinchliff

    hinchliff@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern Britain

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Elizabeth Imber

    eimber1@jhu.edu

    Thesis Title: "Jewish Political Lives at the End of Empire: Zionism, Nationalism, and British Imperialism in India, South Africa, and Palestine, 1917-1948."

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Walkowitz

  • Estrella Irizarry

    eirizar1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass, Professor Mason

  • Xiaoqian Ji

    xji8@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Meyer-Fong, Professor W. Rowe

  • Scott Kasten

    skasten2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Development aid in Africa during the 1960s, neoliberalism, capitalism, Modern France, European Union & European integration

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Walters

  • Jessica Keene

    jkeene5@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Alexey Krichtal

    akricht1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Caitlin Lansing

    clansin1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters

  • Jessica Levy

    jessica.levy.a@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  20th Century United States, Race and Racism, Capitalism, Black Business, and U.S. and the World

    Thesis Title: "From Black Power to Black Empowerment: Transnational Capital and Racial Integration in the United States and South Africa since 1969"

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Connolly

  • Jason Lowcher

    jlowche1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson

  • Lauren MacDonald

    laurenemac@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan

  • Nathan Marvin

    nmarvin1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson, Professor Shepard

  • Jonathan Megerian

    jmegeri1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel, Professor Marshall

  • Misha Mintz-Roth

    mmintzroth@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson

  • Thera Naiman

    tnaiman1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Asmin Omerovic

    asmin.omerovic@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Dexnell Peters

    dpeter47@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Alexander Profaci

    aprofac1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Sara Rahnama

    smrahnama@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Modern France and French Empire in North Africa, Feminism, Print Culture

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Daisy Ramsden

    dramsde2@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Oriol Regue Sendros

    oregues1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Paquette

  • Tarquin Schwartz

    tschwa11@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson

  • Morgan Shahan

    mshahan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  20th-century U.S. social and cultural history; social movements and the carceral state

    Main Adviser: Professor Connolly, Professor Walters

  • Katherine Smoak

    ksmoak1@jhu.edu

    Thesis Title: "Circulating Counterfeits: Making Money and its Meanings in the Eighteenth-Century British Atlantic"

    Main Adviser: Professor Ditz, Professor Ryan

  • Kate Sohasky

    ksohask1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Political and intellectual history of the sciences and social sciences in America during late 19th and early 20th century

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Walters

  • Mo Speller

    mospeller@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Nineteenth and twentieth century history, Urban history, American history, Transnational history, History of capitalism, Race and racism, Space and place

    Main Adviser: Professor Ryan, Professor Connolly

  • Mimi Stewart

    Research Interests:  How invocations of Jamaica and Jamaicans mattered in crucial French debates about French identity from Jamaican independence in 1962 until 1989.

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Rebecca Stoil

    rstoil1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Walters

  • Yuval Tal

    ytal2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Mediterranean history, immigration and citizenship, nationalism and imperialism, history of race and racism, history of gender and sexuality and urban history

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Sarah Templier

    sarah.templier@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Eighteenth-century French and British North America; Early American Republic; gender, consumer and commercial culture, material culture, clothing, textiles, and fashion

    Main Adviser: Professor Ditz, Professor Morgan

  • Adam Thomas

    adam@historitecture.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Connolly, Professor Ryan

  • Tara Tran

    taraktran@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Hospitality; Humanitarianism; Human Rights; Modern France and French Empire; International & Transnational History; Gender; Health; Land; Food, Shelter & Clothing

    Thesis Title: "Hospitality Engendered: Women’s Bodies, Empire, and Humanitarianism in Cambodia, 1863-1954"

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Joseph Wallace

    jwalla44@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg

  • Rachel Waxman

    rwaxman4@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Neil Weijer

    nweijer1@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  the circulation, reception, and production of manuscripts and printed books in Medieval and Early Modern England

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Jennie Williams

    jwill242@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg, Professor Morgan

  • Ying Zhang

    zy.violets@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Medical and gender histories in late imperial China

    Main Adviser: Professor Rowe, Professor Meyer-Fong