Graduate Students

  • Shai Alleson-Gerberg

    salleson@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Sabbateanism and anti-Sabbatean polemics, Jewish-Christian relations and Jewish anti-Christian polemics, Religious syncretism, Interactions between Kabbalah, Halacha, philosophy and science in the Baroque era and the Enlightenment

    Main Adviser: Professor Maciejko

  • Yuri Amano

    yamano1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Eighteenth-century British North America; Early American Republic, History of Medicine and the Body

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg

  • David Attali

    dattali1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Modern France, France's Third Republic, Sociology of Nationalism, Far Right Politics, and European Intellectual History

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Shepard

  • Samuel Backer

    sbacker2@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Furstenberg

  • John Bandy

    jbandy3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Late Imperial and modern Chinese history, frontiers and borderlands, the Chinese maritime world, intellectual communities and networks, local activism

    Main Adviser: Professor Rowe, Professor Meyer-Fong

  • Adam Bisno

    bisno@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Modern Germany, Urban, Commercial hospitality

    Main Adviser: Professor Jelavich

  • Lee Borocz-Johnson

    Research Interests:  History of Political Thought; Intellectual History; Historiography; Textual Criticism; Early Modern Britain; Colonial America; Atlantic History; History of the Common Law; The English Romantics; History of Constitutional Thought; Ecclesiastical Constitutionalism; Receptions of Platonist and Idealist Philosophy; History of Education; Legacies of the English Civil War in the Eighteenth Century

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Allon Brann

    abrann2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  19th and 20th century U.S., intellectual history, social theory, history of racism

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin

  • Alvaro Caso-Bello

    alvarocaso@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Iberian Empires in the age of Revolutions, Colonial and early-Republican Latin America; British Empire, Comparative history of the Atlantic Empires

    Main Adviser: Professor Paquette, Professor Marshall

  • Jilene Chua

    jchua4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  20th c. US and French comparative race and racial politics; empire and immigration; material culture, consumption, and fashion

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard, Professor Walters

  • Christopher Consolino

    cconsol1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early modern British and Dutch Atlantic Worlds, History of Political Economy, Intellectual and Cultural History

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Nathan Daniels

    nathan.daniels@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests:  Medieval France, Urban Space, Social Relations, Cultural Production, Digital History

    Thesis Title: "Crafting Society: Guild Life and Urban Organization in Paris, 1292-1350"

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Constance de Font-Reaulx

    cdefont1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern France; Environmental history; Cultural and Social Theory; History of consumption; Old Regime political economy, and state formation.

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Sean Delehanty

    sdeleha1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  20th Century U.S. History, History of Capitalism, History of International Development

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin

  • Nir Eydan

    neydan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern France, Cultural History, History of Medicine, Popular Culture

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Lauren Feldman

    lauren.feldman@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Nineteenth-century United States history; history of marriage and family; histories of gender, sexuality, and race; history of intimacy and intimate relationships

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters

  • Jeremy Fradkin

    jeremy.fradkin@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  17th-century Britain and Ireland; Protestant and Catholic Reformations; toleration; religious war; Christian-Jewish relations; colonialism and evangelization; migration, diaspora, and exile; intellectual history

    Thesis Title: "Religious Toleration and Protestant Expansion in Revolutionary England, 1642-1658"

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Meredith Gaffield

    m.gaffield@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern France; The French Atlantic; Eighteenth-century French Caribbean; Revolutionary Atlantic; migration and mobility; race and citizenship

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass, Professor Morgan

  • Francis Galasi

    fbgalasi@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern Spain, Spanish Philippines, Catholicism

    Main Adviser: Professor E. Rowe, Professor Paquette

  • Guillermo Garcia Montufar

    guillermo@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early colonial Latin America; The appearances, formation, and nuances of Spanish-American creole-patriotism in the 16th and 17th centuries

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan

  • Yonatan Glazer-Eytan

    yeglazer@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Spain and its empire, 15th-17th centuries, inquisition, converted minorities, religious transgression, sacred images, cross-confessional polemic, diasporas, Mediterranean studies

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan, Professor Paquette

  • Brendan Goldman

    bgoldma4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Medieval Mediterranean History, Cairo Geniza, Jewish History, Middle Eastern/Islamic History, the Crusades and the Frankish Levant, Arabic speakers in Christian states

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Rustow, Professor Spiegel

  • Jennifer Grayson

    jennie.grayson@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Rustow

  • Kalina Hadzhikova

    khadzhi1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Medieval history, medieval historiography, crusades, history of mental illness, cultural history, intellectual history

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Michael Hatton

    mhatton1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Catherine Hinchliff

    hinchliff@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern Britain

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Elizabeth Imber

    eimber1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Modern Jewish history, modern Britain and the British Empire; Palestine, the Yishuv, and Israel; colonialism and decolonization

    Thesis Title: "Jewish Political Lives in the British Empire: Zionism, Nationalism, and Imperialism in Palestine, India, and South Africa, 1917-1948"

    Main Adviser: Professor Moss, Professor Walkowitz

  • Estrella Irizarry

    eirizar1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass, Professor Mason

  • Xiaoqian Ji

    xji8@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern China

    Main Adviser: Professor Meyer-Fong, Professor W. Rowe

  • Scott Kasten

    skasten2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  History of capitalism and sports (specifically baseball). I am interested in the intersections between baseball and audiences, branding, and the continual corporatization of Major League Baseball

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters

  • Thomas Keegan

    tkeegan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  19th century Southern Africa and Africa; transnational perspectives; cultural history; empire and law; environmental history

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson, Professor Thornberry

  • Jessica Keene

    jkeene5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern Britain; Protestant and Catholic Reformations; History of Gender and Sexuality; Perceptions of Illicit and Depraved Sexuality in Reformation Thought

    Main Adviser: Professor Marshall

  • Kevin Kind

    kkind1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Late Imperial Chinese History, Chinese Social History, Ethnic Minorities in Chinese History, Islam in Chinese History

    Main Adviser: Professor Meyer-Fong, Professor Rowe

  • Alexey Krichtal

    akricht1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Atlantic History, Colonial and Early Republic United States, British Empire, Slavery and Slave Trade

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Zvi Kunshtat

    zvi.kunshtat@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Maciejko

  • Caitlin Lansing

    clansin1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Nineteenth-Century America; Histories of Medicine and the Body; Gender and Sexuality; Reproduction; Beauty and Entertainment Cultures

    Main Adviser: Professor Walters, Professor Fissell

  • Jessica Levy

    jessica.levy.a@gmail.com Personal Website

    Research Interests:  20th Century U.S. and the World, Race and Racism, Capitalism, Black Business, and Africa

    Thesis Title: "Black Power, Inc.: Global American Business and the Post-Apartheid City"

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Connolly

  • Jason Lowcher

    jlowche1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson

  • Lauren MacDonald

    laurenemac@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Kagan

  • Nathan Marvin

    nmarvin1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  France and its empire, 17th-19th centuries; French colonization in the Indian Ocean; global impact of the French and Haitian Revolutions; Catholic missions to slaves

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson, Professor Shepard

  • Jonathan Megerian

    jmegeri1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel, Professor Marshall

  • Misha Mintz-Roth

    mmintzroth@gmail.com

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson

  • Thera Naiman

    tnaiman1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Modern France, Cultural History, History of Science, Animal Studies, Environmental History, and Gender and Sexuality

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Asmin Omerovic

    asmin.omerovic@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Medieval Islam, medieval historiography, medieval and early modern Mediterranean economic history

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Dexnell Peters

    dpeter47@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  The Southern Caribbean during the Age of Revolutions; The Greater Caribbean; The Atlantic World

    Thesis Title: "Trinidad and Demerara: The Southern Caribbean in the Revolutionary Era"

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Alexander Profaci

    aprofac1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  High Medieval European cultural history; medieval France, England and Spain; historical writing and historiography; the medieval nobility; literary and critical theory; medieval literature

    Main Adviser: Professor Spiegel

  • Sara Rahnama

    smrahnama@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Modern France and French Empire in North Africa, Feminism, Print Culture

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Daisy Ramsden

    dramsde2@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Morgan

  • Oriol Regue Sendros

    oregues1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Paquette

  • Elliot Root

    eroot1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  The cultural history of racism, capitalism, and power in late 19th and early 20th century American cities; sensory history; biography

    Main Adviser: Professor Connolly

  • Tarquin Schwartz

    tschwa11@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  19th and 20th Century South Africa; Gender and Sexuality; History of Race; Urban History; British Empire

    Main Adviser: Professor Larson, Professor Thornberry

  • Morgan Shahan

    mshahan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  20th-century U.S. social and cultural history; social movements and the carceral state

    Main Adviser: Professor Connolly, Professor Walters

  • Gregory Smaldone

    gsmaldo2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early Modern France, Finance and the French Revolution, History of credit markets, Economic History of Early Modern Europe

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Katherine Smoak

    ksmoak1@jhu.edu

    Thesis Title: "Circulating Counterfeits: Making Money and its Meanings in the Eighteenth-Century British Atlantic"

    Main Adviser: Professor Ditz

  • Mo Speller

    mospeller@gmail.com

    Research Interests:  Nineteenth and twentieth century history, Urban history, American history, Transnational history, History of capitalism, Race and racism, Space and place

    Main Adviser: Professor Ryan, Professor Connolly

  • Simone Stewart

    Research Interests:  How invocations of Jamaica and Jamaicans mattered in crucial French debates about French identity from Jamaican independence in 1962 until 1989.

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Rebecca Stoil

    rstoil1@jhu.edu

    Main Adviser: Professor Burgin, Professor Walters

  • Yuval Tal

    ytal2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Mediterranean history, immigration and citizenship, nationalism and imperialism, history of race and racism, history of gender and sexuality and urban history

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Linda Tchernyshyov

    linda@jhu.edu

    Thesis Title: "Experiencing and Performing Ragtime and Jazz in Germany, 1890-1945"

    Main Adviser: Professor Jelavich

  • Sarah Templier

    sarah.templier@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Eighteenth-century French and British North America; Early American Republic; gender, consumer and commercial culture, material culture, clothing, textiles, and fashion

    Main Adviser: Professor Ditz, Professor Morgan

  • Christina Thomas

    cthom133@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  US Slavery, African American History, African American Family History, Biography

    Main Adviser: Professor Jackson, Professor Johnson

  • Tara Tran

    taraktran@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Hospitality; Humanitarianism; Human Rights; Modern France; Empire; International, Transnational, & Global History; Gender; Land; Health; Food, Shelter & Clothing

    Thesis Title: "Hospitality Engendered: Women's Bodies, Empire, and Humanitarianism in Cambodia, 1863-1954"

    Main Adviser: Professor Shepard

  • Alan van den Arend

    alan.vandenarend@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Intellectual History, Classical Reception, Neo-Latin, Social Theory, and "Stupidity"

    Main Adviser: Professor Celenza, Professor Marshall

  • Joseph Wallace

    jwalla44@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  American Legal History, The Early American Republic, Atlantic History, Early Modern France, and the History of Capitalism

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg

  • Rachel Waxman

    rwaxman4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  Early modern France, consumer culture and fashion, cross-cultural encounters, globalization, the French Revolution

    Main Adviser: Professor Kwass

  • Jennie Williams

    jwill242@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  American slavery and the slave trade, quantitative and cliometric approaches to social history, women and gender, and the 18th and 19th century Atlantic world

    Thesis Title: "Bound Away: The Coastal Domestic Slave Trade in the Antebellum United States, 1820-1860"

    Main Adviser: Professor Furstenberg, Professor Morgan